Ringside Report Radio December 26: The Ringys. Now online

This is the December 26, 2012 episode of Ringside Report Radio. Hosted by Dave Simon and Kevin “Big Tuna” McKough.

Simon and McKough discussed DREAM and GLORY events being broadcast on CBS Sports Network and the future of the Japanese MMA promotion.
Simon and McKough talked about Jose Aldo wanting to fight at lightweight and Paul Daley pulling out of the Bellator Welterweight tournament.
Simon and McKough discussed the year-end awards in MMA for 2012, the annual Ringside Report “Ringys” awards.
2012 Ringys Nominees
KO of the year:
Edson Barboza (spinning heel kick) on Terry Etim on January 14 at UFC 142
Anthony Pettis (head kick) on Joe Lauzon on February 26 at UFC 144)
Siyar Bahadurzada (punch) on Paulo Thiago on April 14 for UFC on Fuel
Justin Lawrence (head kick) on John Cofer at TUF 15 finale on June 1
Chris Weidman (elbows and punches) on Mark Munoz on July 11 for UFC on Fuel
Lyoto Machida (punch) on Ryan Bader on August 4 at UFC on FOX 4
Cung Le (punch) on Rich Franklin for UFC on Fuel in Macau on November 10 in R1 (2:17)
Submission of the year:
Nate Diaz (guillotine) on Jim Miller at UFC on FOX on May 5 in R2
Chan Sung Jung (d’arce choke) on Dustin Poirier at UFC on Fuel on May 15 in R4
Joe Lauzon (triangle choke) on Jamie Varner at UFC on FOX 4 on August 4 in R2
Vinny Magalhaes (arm-bar) on Igor Pokrajac at UFC 152 on September 22 in R2
Antonio Rodrigo Nogueira (arm-bar) on Dave Herman at UFC 153 on October 13 in R2
Canadian fighter of the year (not named Georges St-Pierre)
Rory MacDonald (2-0 UFC in 2012)
Mike Ricci (TUF 16 finalist)
Ryan Jimmo (1-0 UFC in 2012)
TJ Grant (2-0 UFC in 2012)
Ivan Menjivar (2-1 UFC in 2012)
Fight of the year:
GSP v. Carlos Condit– November 17- UFC 154- GSP UD win
Frankie Edgar v. Benson Henderson– February 26- UFC 144 in Japan- Bendo UD win
Dustin Poirier v. Chan Sung Jung- May 15- UFC on FUEL- Korean Zombie R4 submission (d’arce choke) win
Mauricio “Shogun” Rua v. Brandon Vera- August 4- UFC on FOX 4- Shogun R4 TKO (punches) win
Joe Lauzon v. Jamie Varner- August 4- UFC on FOX 4- Lauzon R2 submission win
Event of the year:
UFC 152 Jones v. Belfort-September 22
UFC on FOX 5- Diaz v. Henderson- December 8
UFC 154-GSP v. Condit- November 17
UFC on FOX 3- Diaz v. Miller- May 5
UFC 146- JDS v. Mir- May 26
Rivalry of the year
Anderson Silva v. Chael Sonnen
Jon Jones v. Dana White
Urijah Faber v. Dominick Cruz
Wanderlei Silva v. Vitor Belfort
Frankie Edgar v. Benson Henderson
Comeback of the year:
Matt Brown (after going 1-4 from 2010-2011 Brown went 4-0 in 2012 with wins over Chris Cope, Stephen Thompson, Luis Ramos and Mike Swick)
GSP (came back after 18 months from knee surgery to defeat Carlos Condit at UFC 154)
Tim Boetsch (come back win over Yushin Okami in February and win over Hector Lombard in July, resurgence at middleweight)
Dan Hardy (after losing 4 straight in 2010-2011, he won twice in 2012 with wins over Duane Ludwig and Amir Sadollah)
Cung Le (after losing his UFC debut to Wanderlei Silva in 2011, Cung Le won 2 straight in the UFC with a UD win over Patrick Cote in July and a KO win over Rich Franklin in November)
Newcomer of 2012
Ryan Jimmo (17-1) 0:07 KO win over Anthony Perosh in UFC debut in July at UFC 149
Glover Teixeira (19-2) 2-0 in UFC in 2012, won his UFC debut versus Kyle Kingsbury via first round (arm-triangle) submission in May at UFC 146 and beat Fabio Maldonado via 2nd round TKO doctor stoppage in October at UFC 153
Jimi Manuwa (12-0) 2nd round TKO doctor stoppage win over Kyle Kingsbury for UFC on Fuel on September 29 in his UFC debut
Siyar Bahadurzada (21-4-1) KO R1 win over Paulo Thiago on April 14 in UFC debut at UFC on Fuel 2
Khabib Numagomedov (18-0) 2-0 in UFC in 2012, R3 submission (RNC) win over Kamal Shalorus on January 20 for UFC on FX in UFC debut, UD win over Gleison Tibau at UFC 148 in July
Sara McMann (6-0) has yet to make UFC debut, Olympic wrestling silver medalist, got a UD win over Shayna Baszler at Invicta 2 in July
Story of the year
Strikeforce folds
Fedor retires
Women in UFC
Tito Ortiz retires
UFC 151 gets cancelled
GSP returns
Fighter of the year:
Benson Henderson (beat Frankie Edgar twice, beat Nate Diaz, became UFC LW champ in 2012)
Ronda Rousey (beat Miesha Tate and Sarah Kaufman, became Strikeforce women’s champion and became first woman signed to UFC and their first champion)
Jon Jones (beat Rashad Evans and Vitor Belfort)
Anderson Silva (destroyed Chael Sonnen and Stephan Bonnar)
Demetrious Johnson (became UFC bantamweight champion, wins over Ian McCall and Joseph Benavidez)
Anderson Silva (destroyed Chael Sonnen and Stephan Bonnar)